Geography of Assam and Northeast India

Northeast India is the easternmost region of India. It comprises eight states – Arunachal Pradesh, Assan, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya and Sikkim. The region shares international boundary of 5,182 km with several neighboring countries – 1,395 km with China (Tibet region) in the north, 1,640 km with Myanmar in the east, 1,596 km with Bangladesh in the south-west, 97 km with Nepal in the west, and 455 km with Bhutan in the north-west. It comprises an area of 262,230 square kilometers, almost 8 percent of total geographical areas of India. Assam is the 2nd largest states of NE India and this is called as the “Gateway of Northeast”. Assam is comprises total area of 78,438 km2 . It contains three major physiographic divisions- Brahmaputra Valley, Hills area and Barak Valley. In this section, we have provided some possible questions on geography of Assam and Northeast India for candidates preparing for various competitive exams including The APSC, UPSC etc.

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms bellow to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.